‘The Squashbuckler Diaries’ are the daily tales of Joy Shelley’s Life in the Dream. The ‘Lost in Dreams’ books will tell the story of what happens to her at ages 6, 9, 12, 15, and so on. The diaries tell us what happens before, after, and between the books.

#68: Don't Go, Dad!

“Good night, my Joy!” Dragon Father was sitting on the small wooden bed in Dragon Little’s cramped cabin on Bonny’s Revenge. He had tucked her in and was now just sitting with her until she fell asleep. 

It was rare for him to be there in time for her to fall asleep. But now the adventure had been won before he had woken up, and m little Dragon Little, his little Joy, was tired and wanted to sleep. 

“Good night, Dad.”

She brought the blanket up to her neck and turned around, closing her eyes. 


“What, sweetheart?”

“Don’t go. Stay here when I sleep.”

“Go? Where am I gonna go? This is my home.”

“Just… Don’t go. Be here when I fall asleep. Be here when I sleep. Be here when I wake up.”

“Don’t silly, Joy. I’m always here.”

Even from my hiding place, my sensitive dragon ears could hear her breathing slow down. She was relaxing and falling into sleep. 

Then I heard her turn around. “Dad?”

But Dragon Father wasn’t there. He had vanished. 

I heard her sigh and turn around. 

“Dad…” I heard her whisper. 

After a few minutes, she fell asleep.

—Told by The Red Dragon

#69: It's Human to Be Afraid

#67: Face to Face