‘The Squashbuckler Diaries’ are the daily tales of Joy Shelley’s Life in the Dream. The ‘Lost in Dreams’ books will tell the story of what happens to her at ages 6, 9, 12, 15, and so on. The diaries tell us what happens before, after, and between the books.

#24: Mary's Death, Part 6: Dust to Dust

On the night of Mary’s death, after Dragon Father disappeared to his waking world, and while Dragon Little was talking to a new friend in the Infinite Prison, the dust that had become of Mary when she died, still lay on the deck of Bonny’s Revenge. But not for long.

Wind came and swept that dust away. All the dust was gone with one gust.

The dust twirled in the air, as the breeze of old air flew to where old air flies and new air comes, my hiding place.

The dust flew towards the suns on a journey that had just begun.

I did not want to think where it would go, for I knew only too well.

I comforted myself in knowing the dust’s journey would take years. Dragon Little would still have a few more years to grow up before trouble found her.

—Told by The Red Dragon

Watch how I came up with the idea for this post:

#25: Pictures of Joy

#23: Mary's Death, Part 5: The Funeral